The Automobile Club de l’Ouest is working with the main players in endurance, the manufacturers and technical partners, on the creation of a category reserved for electric-hydrogen-powered prototypes at the 2024 24 Hours of Le Mans. MissionH24 and their team H24Racing are trialling the best technical and sporting solutions to compete in this category.

TOWARDS NEW REGULATIONS

Bernard Niclot, Director of Innovation Mission H24 programme:
The Automobile Club de l’Ouest and the 24 Hours of Le Mans are taking up a trail-blazing challenge with the 2024 regulations: namely, accepting a new form of energy in racing. Safety, storage, refueling and performance all have to be factored in.

From hybrid to hydrogen

When hybrid prototypes were accepted for the 24 Hours of Le Mans there was a remarkable reduction in fuel consumption. A revolutionary step is now being taken with electric-hydrogen-powered prototypes – zero emission racing! A car propelled by a electric-hydrogen powertrain rejects only water vapour into the atmosphere.”
Bernard Niclot, Director of Innovation Mission H24 programme

Bernard Niclot: « The cars that compete in the 24 Hours of Le Mans have to be quick robust prototypes that can cover around 5000 km in the race itself thanks to substantial economy, quick refueling stops, etc. With hydrogen all these aims are achieved as is a new, essential element - decarbonised mobility! »

Bernard Niclot

Bernard Niclot, Director of Innovation Mission H24 programme

Previous section:

Hydrogen

L’Automobile Club de l’Ouest travaille, avec les principaux acteurs de l’Endurance, constructeurs et partenaires techniques, à la création d’une catégorie réservée aux prototypes à propulsion électrique-hydrogène aux 24 Heures du Mans 2024. MissionH24, et son écurie H24Racing, expérimentent les meilleures solutions techniques et sportives pour y parvenir.

VERS UNE NOUVELLE
REGLEMENTATION

Bernard Niclot, Directeur Innovation du programme MissionH24 :
« Avec le règlement 2024, l’Automobile Club de l’Ouest et les 24 Heures du Mans relèvent un défi pionnier : accueillir un nouveau mode d’énergie en compétition. Sécurité, stockage, ravitaillement, performance, tout est à instaurer. »

DE l’hybride
à l’hydrogène

« Avec l’introduction de prototypes hybrides aux 24 Heures du Mans, la réduction de la consommation a été remarquable. Une étape révolutionnaire est franchie avec les prototypes à propulsion électrique-hydrogène puisqu’il s’agit de compétition zéro émission. Une voiture équipée d’un groupe motopropulseur électrique-hydrogène ne rejette dans l’atmosphère que de la vapeur d’eau. »
Bernard Niclot, Directeur Innovation du programme MissionH24.

« Les 24 Heures du Mans se disputent avec des prototypes endurants, performants, pouvant boucler près de 5000 km en course grâce à une autonomie élevée et des ravitaillements rapides... L'hydrogène permet d'atteindre ces objectifs et un autre, essentiel : une mobilité décarbonée ! »

Bernard NICLOT

Directeur Innovation du programme MissionH24

Section précédente :

L'hydrogène